7) Let’s rest a bit (but not too much!)

Dear lectors,

We are currently at mid-flight.
So far I have really enjoyed writing this blog, although unfortunately I do not believe I have much skills or talent for it, and it has been a great experience.

I have tried to make a blog that would drive people to put more interest in History. Indeed, History is too often considered as a minor discipline. I fully disagree, it is impossible to understand your present and consider your future serenely without a deep knowledge/understanding of your past.

– Dobie J.Frank (American writer and newspaper columnist): “The man for whom history is bunk is almost invariably as obtuse to the future as he is blind to the past”

– McCullough David (American writer and historian) “History is who we are and why we are the way we are”

I don’t except to create vocations for the profession of historian here, but I do think that learning and understanding history would help everyone now to comprehend some of the bigger issues our world is facing today.

More privately, this project made me realize how hard it is to run a webiste (and I am just running a small blog without design!). But I have also grown more critic of other websites. Thanks to the readings I had to do for the class, I can now see what tricks or techniques the web designers have used on a website.
It is both great and annoying (that is the problem of knowledge, once you know how something works it looses a part of its magic).

I have chosen this picture to illustrate this post because this blog probably does not mean anything to everyone but me. Therefore, contrary to Armstrong, this blog is nothing for humanity but it is a huge step for me.
A first step

Leave a Reply

